2022 College Football Awards: TCU's Max Duggan Wins the Davey O'Brien Award


BRISTOL, CT - The 2022 NCAA Football regular season has come to a close, and it is that time of year for the College Football Award Show, which took place Thursday evening, Dec. 8 at ESPN headquarters in Bristol.

TCU Quarterback Max Duggan won the Davey O’Brien Award (Best Quarterback in the Nation). Duggan is the first TCU quarterback ever to win the award that is named after TCU legend Davey O’Brien.

Duggan and the rest of the Horned Frogs enter the College Football Playoff when they take on the Michigan Wolverines in the Fiesta Bowl on Dec. 31 at 3 p.m.

Here are the winners of each college football’s major awards announced on Thursday, Dec. 8. While these awards pale in a public relations capacity from the Heisman Trophy that will be awarded on Saturday, there’s still plenty of prestige in taking home a trophy as the best college football player at your position in America.

Outland Trophy (Best Interior offensive or defensive lineman)

  • Winner: Olusegun Oluwatimi, C, Michigan

Bednarik Award (Best defensive player)

  • Winner: Will Anderson Jr., LB, Alabama

Butkus Award (Linebacker)

  • Winner: Jack Campbell, Iowa 

Davey O’Brien (Quarterback)

  • Winner: Max Duggan, TCU

Biletnikoff Award (Wide Receiver)

  • Winner: Jalin Hyatt, Tennessee

Ray Guy (Punter)

  • Winner: Adam Korsak, Rutgers

Nagurski Award (Defensive player)

  • Winner: Will Anderson Jr., Alabama (Second Consecutive Season Winner)

Rimington Trophy (Center)

  • Winner: Olusegun Oluwatimi, Michigan

Doak Walker Award (Running back)

  • Winner: Bijan Robinson, Texas

Lou Groza Award (Kicker)

  • Winner: Christopher Dunn, NC State

Jim Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)

  • Winner: Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson

Walter Camp Award (National Player of the Year)

  • Winner: Caleb Williams, USC

Maxwell Award (Best overall player)

  • Winner: Caleb Williams, USC
TCU Horned Frogs' Max Duggan

Max Duggan Wins the 2022 Davey O'Brien Award. He is the first TCU player to ever win the award that is named after TCU legend, Davey O'Brien.

(Credit: gofrogs.com)

Subscribe to the LIVE! Daily

The LIVE! Daily is the "newspaper to your email" for San Angelo. Each content-packed edition has weather, the popular Top of the Email opinion and rumor mill column, news around the state of Texas, news around west Texas, the latest news stories from San Angelo LIVE!, events, and the most recent obituaries. The bottom of the email contains the most recent rants and comments. The LIVE! daily is emailed 5 days per week. On Sundays, subscribers receive the West Texas Real Estate LIVE! email.


Most Recent Videos

Post a comment to this article here:

X Close