NFL to Play 17 Game Season


SAN ANGELO, TX – On Tuesday National Football League owners approved a 17 game regular season at the virtual Annual League Meeting.

All 32 teams will play one more game that is an out of conference game.

For example, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, who play in the NFC South and finished 2nd in their division, will play the Indianapolis Colts who finished 2nd in the AFC South. 

Teams will play based on their previous season record and will rotate which division plays which.

Also noteworthy, the NFL preseason will now consist of 3 games instead of 4.

This is the first time since 1978 the NFL has added regular season games to the schedule. The regular season schedule increased to 16 games from 14.

The NFL will kick-off the 2021 season on Thursday, September 9th, 2021 and end the regular season on Sunday, January 9th, 2022.


Subscribe to the LIVE! Daily

The LIVE! Daily is the "newspaper to your email" for San Angelo. Each content-packed edition has weather, the popular Top of the Email opinion and rumor mill column, news around the state of Texas, news around west Texas, the latest news stories from San Angelo LIVE!, events, and the most recent obituaries. The bottom of the email contains the most recent rants and comments. The LIVE! daily is emailed 5 days per week. On Sundays, subscribers receive the West Texas Real Estate LIVE! email.


Video Coverage of the 2021 San Angelo Rodeo

Post a comment to this article here:

X Close